April Wrap-up & May TBR


I was in a “fantasy reading slump” last month and it sucks. Whenever I picked up a fantasy book I was unable to finish it. At first I thought I was simply in a reading slump, but I had the urge to read, just not fantasy books. So I ended up finishing books in genres I don’t usually read.

APRIL WRAP-UP

1. Disney Beauty & the Beast manga series by Mallory Reaves
Read my review here.

2. Quite a Mountain: A Fable for All Ages by Jim Benton
Read my review here.

3. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
I have some issues with this book but it’s a satisfying read.
Rating: 7/10

4. We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson
Read my review here.

5. Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur
Ugh. The whole time I thought I was reading Tumblr posts. Why the hype?
Rating: 3/10

6. We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
I loved this essay and I need everyone to read this now.
Rating: 10/10

7. This Is What a Librarian Looks Like: A Celebration of Libraries, Communities, and Access to Information by Kyle Cassidy
Read my review here.

8. Beautiful Smoothie Bowls: 80 Delicious and Colorful Superfood Recipes to Nourish and Satisfy by Carissa Bonham
Read my review here.

9. It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover
THIS BOOK. I haven’t cried that much reading a book in a long time. It was indeed an emotional ride and it also involves a really important issue. If you haven’t read it, do it now.
Rating: 7/10

10. Catsass by Claude Combacau
A book I’d recommend to cat lovers! Catsass is so sassy and cute!
Rating: 7/10

11. Tales of the Peculiar (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #0.5) by Random Riggs
It’s the only fantasy book I was able to finish because it’s a fast read with short tales. I know I won’t be picking up the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series but I love this book.
Rating: 7/10

MAY TBR

I only managed to finish two books from my April TBR but I’m not adding the unfinished ones into this month’s TBR. I’m afraid I won’t have as much free time as I did in April. Also, I know I will be devoting my time to reading ACOWAR!

1. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4) by J.K. Rowling
2. Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller
3. A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas

Have you ever been in a reading slump for a particular genre?

Leave a Reply

