May Wrap-up & June TBR

0d1a8-05
May was a really shitty reading month for me. I finally found a new job and I have less time to read now. The situation might have been better if I wasn’t reading ACOWAR. I’m really stubborn and I swore to finish ACOWAR before starting or resuming another novel. Now I’m about 300 pages in so 400 to go. I made a promise to myself I will finish it this month and I really hope I can keep it.

MAY WRAP-UP

1. Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller
This play is quite similar to All My Sons but I enjoyed this one better.
Rating: 7/10

2. Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination by J.K. Rowling
It’s actually a speech J.K. Rowling gave at Havard University and it’s short. I read it at work. Yes, it’s inspiring but this kind of message has been conveyed many times before and nothing new comes from it. That’s why I only gave it 5 stars out of 10.
Rating: 5/10

3. Peaks And Valleys: Making Good And Bad Times Work For You At Work And In Life by Spencer Johnson
This is a perfect book for people who are feeling troubled and don’t know what to do. It helped me get out of the negative mindset when I was not quite myself last week.
Rating: 8/10

 

SPRING BOOKISH BINGO WRAP-UP

May also marks the end of Spring Bookish Bingo hosted by Pretty Deadly Reviews. I only managed to get one column done.
bingo

Series Finale: A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) by V.E. Schwab
Purple Cover: Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Scary: The Grownup by Gillian Flynn
Adapted to TV/Movie: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling
Paranormal: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer
Retelling: Heartless by Marissa Meyer
Non-fiction: The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher
Thriller: The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
Just Words on Cover: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
Sisters: We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson
Spring Release: Quite a Mountain: A Fable for All Ages by Jim Benton

 

JUNE TBR

1. A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas
I have a very bad feeling about this…it’s gonna ruin me.

2. Damn Good Advice (For People with Talent!) by George Lois
I’m planning to borrow this book from the bookstore I’m working in now. It’s gonna be a quick read so I dare put this on my TBR.

3. Dream Me by Kathryn Berla *from NetGalley

As you can see, I set a pretty low standard for this month.

Anyway,

How many books did you read last month?

Leave a Reply

